Learn More

What is the North Dakota Anti-Corruption Amendment?


Article XIV in the state Constitution, formerly known as Measure 1 or the North Dakota Anti-Corruption Amendment, increases transparency, reforms lobbying and conflicts of interest rules, and creates an ethics commission.

Article XIV:

  • Bans foreign money from elections: Prohibits campaign contributions and election spending by foreign corporations, foreign countries, and foreign nationals.
  • Prevents personal use of campaign money: Protects the ban on personal use of campaign contributions for personal expenses by enshrining it in the constitution.
  • Increases transparency: Requires that all significant amounts of money raised or spent to influence state elections be fully disclosed and placed online for the public to see.
  • Bans lobbyist gifts: Restricts gifts from lobbyists to public officials.
  • Closes the revolving door: Bans elected public officials from also serving as lobbyists, and makes it illegal for public officials to take jobs as lobbyists for two years after leaving office.
  • Roots out conflicts of interest: Strengthens conflict-of-interest rules for members of state agencies.
  • Holds public officials accountable: Creates a nonpartisan ethics commission to receive and investigate ethics complaints, set ethics rules, and provide ethics training programs.

Click here for the North Dakota Constitution.

Click here for the full text of Article XIV.

Why do we need the Amendment?

  • We have a fundamental right to know who is spending money to influence our elections. This measure brings transparency to all major political spending so North Dakotans know who is funding campaigns. We must protect the integrity of our elections from the corrupting influence of secret money
  • This measure is about making government in North Dakota work for you and your family, not just the well-connected and powerful.
  • North Dakota has no impartial source of information, expertise, advice, or investigation on ethical behavior in state government.  All but seven states have an ethics commission. It's just common sense to hold politicians accountable and increase transparency.

Who is sponsoring Measure 1?


North Dakotans for Public Integrity, Inc. 


We are a group of North Dakota citizens who organized ourselves to educate and inform our state about the importance of integrity and public accountability by government institutions, to promote efforts to increase accountability and integrity of government institutions in North Dakota, and to support proposals which will increase the people’s confidence in the honesty and transparency of their government and public officials. 


Dina Butcher, Republican Co-Chair, North Dakotans for Public Integrity. (Bismarck) Dina has worked extensively in state government, serving as Human Rights Division director under Gov. John Hoeven, director of the Community Services Division under Gov. Ed Schafer, as well as director of his state Leadership Initiative and as deputy agriculture commissioner. She was named 2015 Woman of the Year by the ND Women’s Network. Butcher previously owned and operated Association Management Services, managing associations, and launching businesses for various ag interests. A former teacher, she is past president of the Bismarck Rotary Club.


Ellen Chaffee, Democrat Co-Chair, North Dakotans for Public Integrity.  (Bismarck) Ellen is a national governance consultant for university boards of trustees. She was a leader in the North Dakota university system for over 30 years, serving as president of Valley City State University, president of Mayville State University and academic vice-chancellor for the North Dakota University System. She has been board chair of MeritCare Health System, president of two national professional associations and received awards from the governor, ND Women’s Network, ND Women of Today, and the chambers of commerce of North Dakota, Fargo-Moorhead, and Valley City.


Kathy Tweeten, Treasurer, North Dakotans for Public Integrity.  (Bismarck) Kathy is the president of the Joint Council of Extension Professionals, a national organization representing over 10,000 active professionals.  She is also past president of numerous boards - regionally, in North Dakota, nationally, and internationally. Kathy worked for the NDSU Extension service for 30 years in the areas of community economic and leadership development and retiring after 10 years as the Director of the NDSU Extension Center for Community Vitality.  She is currently an Extension Specialist Emeritus in the NDSU Department of Agribusiness and Applied Economics.




317 South Mandan Street

Bismarck, ND 58504



1515 Burnt Boat Drive

Ste C-273

Bismarck, ND 58503