North Dakotans for Public Integrity, Inc.  We are a group of North Dakota citizens who organized ourselves to educate and inform our state about the importance of integrity and public accountability by government institutions, to promote efforts to increase accountability and integrity of government institutions in North Dakota, and to support proposals which will increase the people’s confidence in the honesty and transparency of their government and public officials. 


Dina Butcher, Republican Co-Chair, North Dakotans for Public Integrity. (Bismarck) Dina has worked extensively in state government, serving as Human Rights Division director under Gov. John Hoeven, director of the Community Services Division under Gov. Ed Schafer, as well as director of his state Leadership Initiative and as deputy agriculture commissioner. She was named 2015 Woman of the Year by the ND Women’s Network. Butcher previously owned and operated Association Management Services, managing associations, and launching businesses for various ag interests. A former teacher, she is past president of the Bismarck Rotary Club.


Ellen Chaffee, Democrat Co-Chair, North Dakotans for Public Integrity.  (Bismarck) Ellen is a national governance consultant for university boards of trustees. She was a leader in the North Dakota university system for over 30 years, serving as president of Valley City State University, president of Mayville State University and academic vice-chancellor for the North Dakota University System. She has been board chair of MeritCare Health System, president of two national professional associations and received awards from the governor, ND Women’s Network, ND Women of Today, and the chambers of commerce of North Dakota, Fargo-Moorhead, and Valley City.


Kathy Tweeten, Treasurer, North Dakotans for Public Integrity.  (Bismarck) Kathy is the president of the Joint Council of Extension Professionals, a national organization representing over 10,000 active professionals.  She is also past president of numerous boards - regionally, in North Dakota, nationally, and internationally. Kathy worked for the NDSU Extension service for 30 years in the areas of community economic and leadership development and retiring after 10 years as the Director of the NDSU Extension Center for Community Vitality.  She is currently an Extension Specialist Emeritus in the NDSU Department of Agribusiness and Applied Economics.


Petition Sponsors - North Dakotans.  People. 

Not lobbying groups or out of state corporations.

Dina Butcher, Bismarck               

Susan Wefald, Bismarck               

Tim Mathern, Fargo               

Howard Tweeten, Bismarck

Mary L. Rennich, Bismarck               

Carol M. Russell, Bismarck               

Carol M. Sawicki, Fargo               

Ellen Chaffee, Bismarck

Kathleen Tweeten, Bismarck               

Mary C. Tintes, West Fargo               

Arlette Preston, Fargo               

Cheryl Kary, Bismarck

James B. Buhr, Valley City               

Shadd Piehl, Mandan               

Elizabeth Loos, Bismarck               

Lilian Crook, Bismarck

John Strand, Fargo               

Larry Klundt, Bismarck             

Darrell Dorgan, Bismarck               

John Stern, Fargo

Waylon Hedegaard, Bismarck               

Sharon E. Buhr, Valley City               

Sarah Vogel, Bismarck               

Dan Ulmer, Mandan

William S. Patrie, Bismarck               

Kay Kringlie, Valley City